labeled-array:la.git
6 years agoMerge branch 'sortby' master
Keith Goodman [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 14:03:28 +0000 (07:03 -0700)]
Merge branch 'sortby'

6 years agoTweaks to new sortby function. Closes #17.
Keith Goodman [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 14:00:27 +0000 (07:00 -0700)]
Tweaks to new sortby function. Closes #17.

6 years agoAdded function sortby and unit tests
Fredrik Hallgren [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 13:17:01 +0000 (15:17 +0200)]
Added function sortby and unit tests

Sortby sorts a larry by a row or column specified by its label element. Please see docstring for more details.

Nine unit tests for sortby added.

6 years agoTwo bug fixes for empty input: lar.merge() and lar.morph().
Keith Goodman [Sat, 2 Jul 2011 16:56:12 +0000 (09:56 -0700)]
Two bug fixes for empty input: lar.merge() and lar.morph().

Closes #21. Closes #22.

7 years agoDocstring tweaks.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 22 Jun 2011 16:18:32 +0000 (09:18 -0700)]
Docstring tweaks.

7 years agoBump requirement from Bottleneck 0.4.3 to 0.5.0.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 6 Jun 2011 21:09:40 +0000 (14:09 -0700)]
Bump requirement from Bottleneck 0.4.3 to 0.5.0.

7 years agoFix for break caused by h5py 1.4.0beta2.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 2 Jun 2011 00:25:13 +0000 (17:25 -0700)]
Fix for break caused by h5py 1.4.0beta2.

7 years agoIn the few remaining places switch to using __all__.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 28 May 2011 21:36:57 +0000 (14:36 -0700)]
In the few remaining places switch to using __all__.

7 years agoNew function: la.isaligned(). Closes #16.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 28 May 2011 21:23:31 +0000 (14:23 -0700)]
New function: la.isaligned(). Closes #16.

7 years agoRemove non-working 'in' and 'not in' options from larry.keep_x.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 7 May 2011 02:07:38 +0000 (19:07 -0700)]
Remove non-working 'in' and 'not in' options from larry.keep_x.

Closes #12.

7 years agoAllow negative lag in larry.lag() and bug fix zero lag.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 7 May 2011 01:46:57 +0000 (18:46 -0700)]
Allow negative lag in larry.lag() and bug fix zero lag.

Closes #13. Closes #14.

7 years agoUpdate license to 2011.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 2 May 2011 16:26:24 +0000 (09:26 -0700)]
Update license to 2011.

7 years agoDoc tweaks. v0.5.0
Keith Goodman [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 20:46:50 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
Doc tweaks.

7 years agoSet la 0.5.0 release date to today!
Keith Goodman [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 19:50:53 +0000 (12:50 -0700)]
Set la 0.5.0 release date to today!

7 years agoSupport python 2.5 by importing `with` statement. Closes #11.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 16:38:29 +0000 (09:38 -0700)]
Support python 2.5 by importing `with` statement. Closes #11.

7 years agoSwitch doc to point to github repo instead of gitorious.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 16:16:04 +0000 (09:16 -0700)]
Switch doc to point to github repo instead of gitorious.

7 years agoRemove zip_safe from setup.py. Not used by disutils.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 21:32:22 +0000 (14:32 -0700)]
Remove zip_safe from setup.py. Not used by disutils.

7 years agoRemoved deleted directory from setup.py.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 21:11:31 +0000 (14:11 -0700)]
Removed deleted directory from setup.py.

7 years agoReduce import time with lazy import of scipy:.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 13 Mar 2011 22:38:00 +0000 (15:38 -0700)]
Reduce import time with lazy import of scipy:.

SciPy is only used in one function and only as
a non-default option. So no need to import it
every time.

7 years agoRemove copy of scipy functions; use Bottleneck instead.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 02:47:02 +0000 (18:47 -0800)]
Remove copy of scipy functions; use Bottleneck instead.

This makes several functions faster. And removes code
from la.

7 years agoOdds and ends in preparation of release. Details below:
Keith Goodman [Thu, 10 Mar 2011 19:42:53 +0000 (11:42 -0800)]
Odds and ends in preparation of release. Details below:

1. Update setup.py
2. Add numpy, bottleneck, and h5py version to la.info()
3. Edit README

7 years agoAdd optional `ddof` parameter to lar.std() and lar.var().
Keith Goodman [Thu, 10 Mar 2011 18:50:29 +0000 (10:50 -0800)]
Add optional `ddof` parameter to lar.std() and lar.var().

7 years agoDocstring fix. Closes #9.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 10 Mar 2011 18:26:46 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
Docstring fix. Closes #9.

7 years agoFixed "Warning: invalid value encountered in ..." Closes #10.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 10 Mar 2011 18:16:04 +0000 (10:16 -0800)]
Fixed "Warning: invalid value encountered in ..." Closes #10.

7 years agoMerge branch 'bottleneck'
Keith Goodman [Thu, 10 Mar 2011 16:36:47 +0000 (08:36 -0800)]
Merge branch 'bottleneck'

7 years agoDoc work for adding Bottleneck.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 8 Mar 2011 00:40:46 +0000 (16:40 -0800)]
Doc work for adding Bottleneck.

7 years agoRename moving window files from `mov` to `move`.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 7 Mar 2011 23:47:43 +0000 (15:47 -0800)]
Rename moving window files from `mov` to `move`.

7 years agoUse moving window functions from Bottleneck.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 7 Mar 2011 23:40:28 +0000 (15:40 -0800)]
Use moving window functions from Bottleneck.

7 years agoStart adding Bottleneck, everything except moving window functions.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 7 Mar 2011 21:47:19 +0000 (13:47 -0800)]
Start adding Bottleneck, everything except moving window functions.

7 years agoAdded install instructions for Windows.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 17 Nov 2010 16:31:57 +0000 (08:31 -0800)]
Added install instructions for Windows.

7 years agoAdd the new directories (farray, external) to setup.py.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 17 Nov 2010 14:55:18 +0000 (06:55 -0800)]
Add the new directories (farray, external) to setup.py.

7 years agoAdd moving window statistics larry methods such as lar.mov_sum().
Keith Goodman [Sun, 14 Nov 2010 16:35:37 +0000 (08:35 -0800)]
Add moving window statistics larry methods such as lar.mov_sum().

Previous work made moving stats array functions. This commit creates the
corresponding larry methods.

7 years agoMoving window statistics doc work.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 14 Nov 2010 00:02:25 +0000 (16:02 -0800)]
Moving window statistics doc work.

7 years agoIO (hdf5 archiving) doc typos.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 8 Nov 2010 18:26:33 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
IO (hdf5 archiving) doc typos.

7 years agoAdded la.external.scipy.nanvar().
Keith Goodman [Mon, 8 Nov 2010 00:10:22 +0000 (16:10 -0800)]
Added la.external.scipy.nanvar().

7 years agoMoving statistics doc work and mov_min(), mov_max() bug fix.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 23:41:19 +0000 (16:41 -0700)]
Moving statistics doc work and mov_min(), mov_max() bug fix.

7 years agoAdded mov_median() and mov_nanmedian().
Keith Goodman [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 23:05:55 +0000 (16:05 -0700)]
Added mov_median() and mov_nanmedian().

7 years agoAdded mov_nanranking() and mov_count().
Keith Goodman [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 21:06:00 +0000 (14:06 -0700)]
Added mov_nanranking() and mov_count().

7 years agoRemove mov_nanvar_cumsum() and mov_nanstd_cumsum().
Keith Goodman [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 19:26:11 +0000 (12:26 -0700)]
Remove mov_nanvar_cumsum() and mov_nanstd_cumsum().

The cumsum method can give negative var.

7 years agoAdded mov_std() and mov_nanstd().
Keith Goodman [Fri, 5 Nov 2010 01:03:02 +0000 (18:03 -0700)]
Added mov_std() and mov_nanstd().

7 years agoAdded mov_var() and mov_nanvar().
Keith Goodman [Thu, 4 Nov 2010 23:53:40 +0000 (16:53 -0700)]
Added mov_var() and mov_nanvar().

7 years agoAdded mov_mean, mov_nanmean, mov_min, mov_nanmin.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 4 Nov 2010 22:41:05 +0000 (15:41 -0700)]
Added mov_mean, mov_nanmean, mov_min, mov_nanmin.

7 years agoInitial commit of new moving statistics functions.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 4 Nov 2010 03:57:26 +0000 (20:57 -0700)]
Initial commit of new moving statistics functions.

7 years agoSmall speed up in farray.mov_sum().
Keith Goodman [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 15:08:07 +0000 (08:08 -0700)]
Small speed up in farray.mov_sum().

7 years agoFirst commit to gitorious. Testing a move from github to gitorious.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 21:37:19 +0000 (14:37 -0700)]
First commit to gitorious. Testing a move from github to gitorious.

7 years agoConvert farray.py module into a subpackage with four modules.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 16:56:32 +0000 (09:56 -0700)]
Convert farray.py module into a subpackage with four modules.

7 years agodemean, demedian, zscore choked on 1d input when axis=-1. Closes #8.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 21:29:07 +0000 (14:29 -0700)]
demean, demedian, zscore choked on 1d input when axis=-1. Closes #8.

7 years agomov_sum is faster and code is cleaner.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 20:05:23 +0000 (13:05 -0700)]
mov_sum is faster and code is cleaner.

Before:

    >> a = np.random.rand(100)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(a,10)
    10000 loops, best of 3: 67.9 us per loop
    >> b = np.random.rand(100,100)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(b,20)
    1000 loops, best of 3: 347 us per loop
    >> c = np.random.rand(1000,1000)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(c,100)
    10 loops, best of 3: 50.3 ms per loop

After:

    >> a = np.random.rand(100)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(a,10)
    10000 loops, best of 3: 55.1 us per loop
    >> b = np.random.rand(100,100)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(b,20)
    1000 loops, best of 3: 324 us per loop
    >> c = np.random.rand(1000,1000)
    >> timeit la.farray.mov_sum(c,100)
    10 loops, best of 3: 40.2 ms per loop

7 years agomov_sum() no longer treats Inf and -Inf as missing values.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 03:48:38 +0000 (20:48 -0700)]
mov_sum() no longer treats Inf and -Inf as missing values.

7 years agoDeprecated movingsum; use mov_sum.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 03:26:48 +0000 (20:26 -0700)]
Deprecated movingsum; use mov_sum.

7 years agoDoc tweak.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 00:02:12 +0000 (17:02 -0700)]
Doc tweak.

7 years agoquantile no longer chokes on axis=None or q=1. Closes #7.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 23:04:57 +0000 (16:04 -0700)]
quantile no longer chokes on axis=None or q=1. Closes #7.

7 years agoDoc Tweak.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 20 Oct 2010 14:37:01 +0000 (07:37 -0700)]
Doc Tweak.

7 years agoDoc tweak.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 20 Oct 2010 14:32:20 +0000 (07:32 -0700)]
Doc tweak.

7 years agoDoc tweak.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 20 Oct 2010 14:25:43 +0000 (07:25 -0700)]
Doc tweak.

7 years agoNew NaN-aware ndarray functions: demean, demedian, and zscore.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 20 Oct 2010 01:12:42 +0000 (18:12 -0700)]
New NaN-aware ndarray functions: demean, demedian, and zscore.

7 years agoDoc string tweak for larry.intersection().
Keith Goodman [Tue, 19 Oct 2010 17:32:36 +0000 (10:32 -0700)]
Doc string tweak for larry.intersection().

7 years agoAdded larry.tofile() to save 1d and 2d larrys to text file.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 13 Oct 2010 18:43:24 +0000 (11:43 -0700)]
Added larry.tofile() to save 1d and 2d larrys to text file.

7 years agoBug fix in adjustment of volume from Yahoo Finance.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 16:52:47 +0000 (09:52 -0700)]
Bug fix in adjustment of volume from Yahoo Finance.

7 years agoDoc tweaks for Yahoo! Finance historical quotes.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 15:28:30 +0000 (08:28 -0700)]
Doc tweaks for Yahoo! Finance historical quotes.

7 years agoAdd option to adjust Yahoo quotes for splits and dividends.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 11 Oct 2010 23:56:27 +0000 (16:56 -0700)]
Add option to adjust Yahoo quotes for splits and dividends.

7 years agoAdded function to return Yahoo! historical quotes as a larry.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 11 Oct 2010 22:39:21 +0000 (15:39 -0700)]
Added function to return Yahoo! historical quotes as a larry.

7 years agoCreated directory for external dependencies; Moved code to it.
Keith Goodman [Mon, 11 Oct 2010 19:01:30 +0000 (12:01 -0700)]
Created directory for external dependencies; Moved code to it.

7 years agoSilence most of the Sphinx "make html" warnings.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 9 Oct 2010 00:39:10 +0000 (17:39 -0700)]
Silence most of the Sphinx "make html" warnings.

7 years agola.farray.lastrank choked on empty array input. Closes #5.
Keith Goodman [Fri, 8 Oct 2010 22:47:11 +0000 (15:47 -0700)]
la.farray.lastrank choked on empty array input. Closes #5.

7 years agoAdded new function: unique. Closes #4.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 18:33:32 +0000 (11:33 -0700)]
Added new function: unique. Closes #4.

7 years agoMove sphinx docs to berkeleyanalytics.com/la
Keith Goodman [Sun, 12 Sep 2010 15:32:56 +0000 (08:32 -0700)]
Move sphinx docs to berkeleyanalytics.com/la

7 years agoBug #2: larry.sortaxis(None) chopped off singleton dimensions.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 13 Jul 2010 16:52:17 +0000 (09:52 -0700)]
Bug #2: larry.sortaxis(None) chopped off singleton dimensions.

7 years agoBug: la.info() crashed if h5py could not be imported.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 19:16:33 +0000 (12:16 -0700)]
Bug: la.info() crashed if h5py could not be imported.

7 years agoBump version to 0.4.0; set release date to today!
Keith Goodman [Tue, 6 Jul 2010 15:15:21 +0000 (08:15 -0700)]
Bump version to 0.4.0; set release date to today!

7 years agoDefault binary operators no longer raise error when no labels overlap.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 4 Jul 2010 14:27:18 +0000 (07:27 -0700)]
Default binary operators no longer raise error when no labels overlap.

This makes the default binary operators (+, -, >, ...) behave the same
as the new binary operators la.binaryop(), la.add(), ... Plus it makes
the default binary operators faster on unaligned larrys.

7 years agoUpdate mailing list address.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 4 Jul 2010 13:54:49 +0000 (06:54 -0700)]
Update mailing list address.

7 years agoUpdate unit tests.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 23:30:25 +0000 (16:30 -0700)]
Update unit tests.

7 years agoUpdate alignment section of doc for new binary functions.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 23:09:55 +0000 (16:09 -0700)]
Update alignment section of doc for new binary functions.

7 years agoAdd la.divide().
Keith Goodman [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 20:46:39 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
Add la.divide().

7 years agoNew mailing list.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 18:00:54 +0000 (11:00 -0700)]
New mailing list.

7 years agoAdd la.multiply().
Keith Goodman [Fri, 2 Jul 2010 22:06:47 +0000 (15:06 -0700)]
Add la.multiply().

7 years agoAdd la.multiply().
Keith Goodman [Fri, 2 Jul 2010 21:53:45 +0000 (14:53 -0700)]
Add la.multiply().

7 years agoAdd la.subtract().
Keith Goodman [Fri, 2 Jul 2010 17:10:17 +0000 (10:10 -0700)]
Add la.subtract().

7 years agoDoc tweaks.
Keith Goodman [Fri, 2 Jul 2010 02:21:31 +0000 (19:21 -0700)]
Doc tweaks.

7 years agola version info now in one file instead of two.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 23:59:28 +0000 (16:59 -0700)]
la version info now in one file instead of two.

7 years agoTypo in previous commit.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 16:00:30 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
Typo in previous commit.

7 years agoAdded la.add(); Sphinx doc work.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 15:54:37 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
Added la.add(); Sphinx doc work.

7 years agoSphinx doc tweaks.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 23:04:19 +0000 (16:04 -0700)]
Sphinx doc tweaks.

7 years agoNew functions: binaryop, align_raw.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 29 Jun 2010 18:55:39 +0000 (11:55 -0700)]
New functions: binaryop, align_raw.

7 years agoChanged the behavior of la.align().
Keith Goodman [Mon, 28 Jun 2010 16:10:08 +0000 (09:10 -0700)]
Changed the behavior of la.align().

8 years agoPackaging tweaks.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 24 Jun 2010 16:46:40 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Packaging tweaks.

8 years agoBump version to la 0.4dev.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 24 Jun 2010 15:36:15 +0000 (08:36 -0700)]
Bump version to la 0.4dev.

8 years agoNew function la.info() gives package info.
Keith Goodman [Thu, 24 Jun 2010 02:01:35 +0000 (19:01 -0700)]
New function la.info() gives package info.

8 years agoBug: align returned a view for a corner case instead of copy.
Keith Goodman [Wed, 23 Jun 2010 16:03:08 +0000 (09:03 -0700)]
Bug: align returned a view for a corner case instead of copy.

8 years agoAdd Cython version of listmap_fill.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 22 Jun 2010 23:29:48 +0000 (16:29 -0700)]
Add Cython version of listmap_fill.

8 years agomorph is much faster as are methods, such as merge, that use it.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 22 Jun 2010 20:41:23 +0000 (13:41 -0700)]
morph is much faster as are methods, such as merge, that use it.

8 years agoRename clistmap.pyx to cflabel.pyx.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 22 Jun 2010 16:34:24 +0000 (09:34 -0700)]
Rename clistmap.pyx to cflabel.pyx.

Preparing to add more cython functions.

8 years agoNew functions: align and listmap_fill.
Keith Goodman [Tue, 22 Jun 2010 15:53:17 +0000 (08:53 -0700)]
New functions: align and listmap_fill.

8 years agoAdd rst extension to README and RELEASE files.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 20 Jun 2010 20:43:01 +0000 (13:43 -0700)]
Add rst extension to README and RELEASE files.

8 years agoMore launchpad to github transition stuff.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 20 Jun 2010 20:40:14 +0000 (13:40 -0700)]
More launchpad to github transition stuff.

8 years agoAdd rst extention to release notes.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 20 Jun 2010 20:12:05 +0000 (13:12 -0700)]
Add rst extention to release notes.

8 years agoAdded split function to split data into train and test.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 20 Jun 2010 19:57:49 +0000 (12:57 -0700)]
Added split function to split data into train and test.

8 years agolarry.take docstring copied (and modified) from Numpy.
Keith Goodman [Sun, 20 Jun 2010 00:52:51 +0000 (17:52 -0700)]
larry.take docstring copied (and modified) from Numpy.

8 years agoAdd larry.take to the sphinx doc.
Keith Goodman [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 23:30:04 +0000 (16:30 -0700)]
Add larry.take to the sphinx doc.