scripts/sequence-patch.sh: Drop --combine and change --fast to apply patches in one...
authorJeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Wed, 5 Dec 2012 04:59:05 +0000 (23:59 -0500)
committerJeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Wed, 5 Dec 2012 05:29:03 +0000 (00:29 -0500)
commit3ee8541849f9773faa77431ebad1ea07bf9d4ad8
tree05c3c1cbabbfafc0bb9b45426821d9f5a106f824
parent638aeaa0a4781ef3cec13bef69a91cdd69af1b6b
scripts/sequence-patch.sh: Drop --combine and change --fast to apply patches in one call to patch(1).

The --combine argument applies the patches against an expanded tree and
caches a patch containing the aggregate (minimal) changeset. If --fast is
used as well, the precomputed patches are substituted in the list of
patches to be applied to the tree.

This approach may have worked well when we always added new patches to
the end of the series.conf file but now that we divide it into sections,
it isn't really useful. A quick poll on kernel@ suggests that nobody
actually uses it.

With this commit, the --fast behavior is changed so that the patches
are concatenated together and applied with one call to patch(1).

Some quick testing with cold caches and a quiet file system shows this
substantially speeds up the patching process. When used with LIMIT,
it will set up a series file containing the remaining patches, but the
caller will not be able to 'quilt pop' beyond the result of the fast
patching.

I observed the following results with 5678 patches to apply:

without --no-quilt (default):
real    4m13.186s
user    0m47.463s
sys     1m8.977s

with --no-quilt:
real    3m13.727s
user    0m51.386s
sys     1m21.899s

with --realfast:
real    1m23.960s
user    0m9.526s
sys     0m10.431s

Since there are no more users of scripts/md5fast, it is removed.
scripts/md5fast [deleted file]
scripts/sequence-patch.sh