PCI/PM: Clean up PME state when removing a device
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Mon, 11 Feb 2013 19:49:49 +0000 (20:49 +0100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sun, 17 Feb 2013 18:53:13 +0000 (10:53 -0800)
commit55a6e2303a0f88c3aec1f2ee34e14814041831b9
tree9eae740834b641c8b75d8256ad388b9604a008e1
parentafb7b3a2bd406586ed4aebc1e159352e588b991e
PCI/PM: Clean up PME state when removing a device

commit 249bfb83cf8ba658955f0245ac3981d941f746ee upstream.

Devices are added to pci_pme_list when drivers use pci_enable_wake()
or pci_wake_from_d3(), but they aren't removed from the list unless
the driver explicitly disables wakeup.  Many drivers never disable
wakeup, so their devices remain on the list even after they are
removed, e.g., via hotplug.  A subsequent PME poll will oops when
it tries to touch the device.

This patch disables PME# on a device before removing it, which removes
the device from pci_pme_list.  This is safe even if the device never
had PME# enabled.

This oops can be triggered by unplugging a Thunderbolt ethernet adapter
on a Macbook Pro, as reported by Daniel below.

[bhelgaas: changelog]
Reference: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/CAMVG2svG21yiM1wkH4_2pen2n+cr2-Zv7TbH3Gj+8MwevZjDbw@mail.gmail.com
Reported-and-tested-by: Daniel J Blueman <daniel@quora.org>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/pci/remove.c