CPU hotplug: provide a generic helper to disable/enable CPU hotplug
authorSrivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:04:36 +0000 (14:04 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 20 Jun 2013 18:58:44 +0000 (11:58 -0700)
commitb3cba474228862814480d40554f77e98483f41ed
treeac70cc8e20df21d9f64b27bd5f2318964b204cd1
parent91c930674642f4b849d64398db261ad13c3ab354
CPU hotplug: provide a generic helper to disable/enable CPU hotplug

commit 16e53dbf10a2d7e228709a7286310e629ede5e45 upstream.

There are instances in the kernel where we would like to disable CPU
hotplug (from sysfs) during some important operation.  Today the freezer
code depends on this and the code to do it was kinda tailor-made for
that.

Restructure the code and make it generic enough to be useful for other
usecases too.

Signed-off-by: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Russ Anderson <rja@sgi.com>
Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
include/linux/cpu.h
kernel/cpu.c